Finding Contentment

You may have to pardon anything in this post that confuses you.  I’m still trying to figure this out myself and so my thoughts may ramble as I go about my writing of this.

Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. (Philippians 4:11-13 KJV)

Contentment is not always easy, okay, I’ll be honest here – I don’t know about you, but for me it can be extremely difficult.  How, when you desire something so so badly, can you be content?  For me it’s not material things that I struggle with, it’s where I’m at in life – something that I have no control over.

For me the first (baby) step for me is to realize that there is a reason for everything in life, including where I’m at right now. I may not understand it, though who knows, for me right now it could be as simple as the fact that I need to learn contentment, but I can only guess at the reason.

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28 KJV)

A week ago I went to a Bible conference where  the speaker mentioned a verse that caught my attention.

But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:19 KJV)

So God will supply all my needs right? But I think that I need something and I need it now and badly! However, I’m coming to realize that maybe I don’t need what I think I do.  Oh I want it – I know that.  I want it so bad that it hurts, but God knows what I need more than I do.  Thinking on this verse makes me realize that God does fill all my needs, I just may not know what my needs are and I may be getting my needs and my wants confused with each other.

I’m sure that there will be more on this subject (and on the related subjects of peace and difficult circumstances in life) soon!

Leave a Reply

