Predestination

A touchy subject I know.  I’ve been reading ‘The Sovereignty of God’ by Arthur Pink recently for school and it is definately coming from a pro-predestination view point.  I can’t deny that predestination exists – the Bible uses the word predestined in several verses such as Romans 8:29 and yet we cannot be controlled by Him or He would make us sin and God cannot sin….It’s something that I have been trying to figure out for a long time and yet I don’t think that I am any closer to figuring it out.

Let me know what you think!  Comments expanding on it are very welcomed.

 

Jenna

5 Responses to Predestination

  1. I agree, this is a difficult topic. And you are right, the Bible does mention it. Sometimes I wonder if predestination is just another word for saying that although we have free will, God does already know the choice we will make through out our life. For example, today I have the freedom to choose whether I will serve our Lord, it is my choice. But our Lord does already know what I will choose.

    I really enjoy reading your blog. May God Bless you and your family always.

    In God We Trust.

    Theresa Fleming
    MomsForAmerica.com

  2. Listen says:

    Hi Jenna. I’m from the Nanowrimo forums. I agree 100% with your stance on not kissing random guys. 😀

    I believe that we are ALL predestined to come to Christ, because God is not willing that any should perish. But God isn’t going to steamroll us into doing His will, even for our own good. That’s how I see “predestination” co-existing with free will.
    Jesus would have died if there was only one person on Earth, even knowing that s/he would reject Him, just to give them that choice. THAT is how much He loves us and wants us to come to him, and that is how we can know that He doesn’t want to lose any of us. He doesn’t decide, when forming people in the womb, “This one will be nice to have in Heaven,” or, “I’ll let Satan have this one.” He wants us ALL. But it is up to us. He’s made the Way and revealed it to us, and He’ll guide us there … but He will not force us to walk.

    What a merciful God!

    ~ Listen

  3. savedbygrace74 says:

    Salvation is not up to us. It is a work of God.

  4. emmilglenn says:

    I agree with Listen. When Christ died, he made provisions for all of us to be saved. Whether we choose to accept that grace or not is up to us. Just like Adam’s sin condemned us all, but we only became sinners at birth, its the same with Christ’s death. He died for us all, but we are saved when we are reborn and choose to follow him.

  5. Catie Eliza says:

    Ah I have struggled with this so much over quite a few years, sometimes more intensely than others… I can’t fathom the idea that there would be some people God didn’t choose!?!?!? xx

Leave a Reply

