For the Fourth

HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY EVERYONE!

So I thought that for today I would post some great quotes:

“I know not what course others may take, but as for me, give me liberty, or give me death.”
Patrick Henry (1736 – 1799), (Virginia Convention, March 23, 1775)
“Our obligations to our country never cease but with our lives.”
John Adams (1735 – 1826), Letter to Benjamin Rush, 18 April 1808
“Duty is ours, results are God’s.”
John Quincy Adams
“Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.”
Benjamin Franklin (1706 – 1790), Historical Review of Pennsylvania, 1759

And from a relative of mine:

“I only regret that I have but one life to lose for my country.”
Nathan Hale (1755 – 1776), last words, 22 September 1776 (attributed)
Leave a Reply

